Korea
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This Forum is for meeting up with others that served in Korea. If you were in Korea during the War, or stationed in Korea any time after, you can post up where you were, and hopefully over time, will start meeting up with others that you served with.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Camp Kyle- Anyone Serve There?

Go down 
+5
stumpy66
Bill Beatty
SPC Sweeney
wd4ngb
sprintfan11
9 posters
AuthorMessage
sprintfan11

Camp Kyle- Anyone Serve There? Empty
PostSubject: Camp Kyle- Anyone Serve There?   Camp Kyle- Anyone Serve There? Icon_minitimeThu Mar 26, 2009 10:59 am

Anyone serve at Camp Kyle, 61st Maint. Company. I was a generator mechanic in the Engineer section.

Shawn Miller
Back to top Go down
wd4ngb

PostSubject: Re: Camp Kyle- Anyone Serve There?   Camp Kyle- Anyone Serve There? Icon_minitimeSat Mar 28, 2009 12:10 pm

I was at Kyle in 1969 for a couple of weeks. Was in D Company, 4th Maint Bn. We then moved to Cp Stanley. Was a neat move, in that we put our TA50 on, and carried our weapons during the move, and received credit for our manditory yearly field problem. Our Bn Hq was at CRC, and we had another company at Kyle, A Company. I think we had the same mission, DS maint for all non divisonal units north of Seoul. A Company also had a detachment a Cp Page, and D Company had 2, 1 at Cp St Barbara and one at Cp McIntyre, both near the DMZ.

Outside of Kyle was called Kumu-ri, and was a max of 1,000 people there then. Now looks like part of Uijongbu

http://www.qsl.net/wd4ngb/kyle.htm
Back to top Go down
http://www.qsl.net/wd4ngb/army.htm
SPC Sweeney

PostSubject: Re: Camp Kyle- Anyone Serve There?   Camp Kyle- Anyone Serve There? Icon_minitimeSun Apr 19, 2009 4:36 am

Camp Kyle Closed down in 2005 but I was in 61st when they moved to Camp Stanley
Back to top Go down
Bill Beatty